Keeping busy!

My Graphic Design short course is coming to a close. I’ve just completed the last assignment, so now I’m just waiting for my final marks. I can’t say it’s been grueling, and if it wasn’t for the fact that I’ll be getting a University of Capetown certificate at the end of it, I don’t think I’d be too happy.

That’s not to say that the course was bad, or that I expected more, just that the price was a little steep for the content provided. (Thankfully I have a mother who is more than supportive (pushy) with this kind of thing.) The course content was nothing you couldn’t find in a free course, or through a shallow google search. It was presented well, and the interaction on the forums was great.
There is also the fact that most of the content was not new to me, I do know my way around the basics (and some of the not so basics) of graphic design, having done more than a couple projects as a freelancer, so I guess my opinion is biased.

The next step is doing bunches of free, online courses through courseraedX, or MIT.

In any case, I learnt a whole bunch of stuff and will very soon have another line of text to add to my ever glowing CV. Yay me.
On another note, I’ve (again, finally) started illustrating images for sale on stock image websites (any suggestions?). My goal is to do one a day, on top of my sketch-a-day stuff.
Carrie Lion
I’ve also started illustrating for Caroline’s short children’s story poems!
(I think that this will fall under my sketch-a-day)
This is (obviously) by no means any where close to being done, (she’s missing a tail!) but it should give a halfway decent idea of what’s in my head.

Over the next couple of weeks, I will finish the poem’s illustrations, complete my istock (and other website’s) registration, hopefully start another short course, and the world will be made whole!

And if I’m lucky… one day somebody other than Caroline may actually read these entries.

In a side note, I’ve very recently had the honour of interacting with a prime specimen of a subset of the human race (the yolo/swag variety) who believes “you need haters to succeed.” I am saddened that my interaction with him lasted more than one message. I really hope you’re not one of those people.

2 thoughts on “Keeping busy!

Leave a Reply

